Ten Good Things About The Market Basket Dispute

13Aug14

• I can carry an entire week’s groceries inside in just one trip. No, I have not been going to the gym.

• There’s a real sense of community with the Market Basket shoppers and that’s why the boycott is working. It’s a little like being a member of an exclusive club and we’re holding our meetings at Stop & Shop, Hannaford’s, Walmart, Shaw’s, Target, BJs etc.

• I’ve totally reorganized my finances. It’s probably a good thing that I’m spending so much more for food. I used to throw away money on frivolous things like shelter, utilities and gasoline.

Market Basket shelves

• I can always get a parking spot in the front row, right by the door at Market Basket. No, I was not shopping, I just wanted to look around and see what a business that has lost 90+ percent of their customers looks like.

• I’m meeting new people. I’m talking to more Market Basket customers than ever before. Of course, I’m talking to them in Stop & Shop and we’re all saying the same thing; “I want my grocery store back.”

• It’s a geography lesson. Market Basket operates the only grocery stores in Haverhill, so I’ve been going to Methuen multiple times a week to shop or pick up some forgotten item. Everyone seems to be using google maps to see what stores are in or around their towns.

• Who doesn’t enjoy the occasional scavenger hunt? Everyone is wandering around with that same bewildered expression, looking for something. You can hear them in the aisles; “You seen the razor blades?” “No, have you found the salad dressing?”

• I’m trying new things. I buy the same things every week, and now, since I can’t find those brands, I’m trying out new, and more expensive, brands.

• The Market Basket diet. With the costs of groceries higher at other stores, people are buying, and therefore eating less. I suspect we’ll see Arthur S. hawking the benefits of his new Market Basket diet plan on Katie Couric’s show some time soon.

• People are standing up for people. I have been amazed to see managers, workers and customers all hold together for over a month. Based on the number and desperate tone of their press releases, the pressure seems to be getting to the board of directors.

No Responses Yet to “Ten Good Things About The Market Basket Dispute”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

