What a Long Strange Trip It’s Been

22Sep13

As many people know, I’ve spent the past year completely reinventing myself in a professional sense. After 30+ years in the business world, doing credit & collections, retail sales, media sales and owning my own business, I decided I’d had enough and needed to do something completely different.

I decided to become a teacher. A science teacher at the middle school level, specifically.  I spent the entire 2012-2013 school year working as an on-call substitute teacher and taking the Massachusetts Tests for Educator Licensure (MTEL’s). All teachers in Mass. have to take and pass the Communication and Literacy exam. As a science teacher I had to take and pass the Middle School Science exam. And, for good measure, I took and passed the Middle School Math exam as well.

These are not easy tests. I had to relearn 12 years of science and math in a very short time. But I passed and obtained my Preliminary teaching license.

Near the end of this eventful year, I landed a job teaching Math/Science for the 6th,7th and 8th grades at a private school in Lowell.

And I entered into a master’s program that will allow me to earn my degree in an intense two years.

So, now I’m in school again. I’m a teacher and a student.

I think the teaching thing is going well. The students seem to respond to me, they seem to be learning and their test scores back up that feeling.

The student thing is not as clear cut. I’m struggling a little. I feel a little out of sync with my classmates and the instructor at this point. I think I’m really, really, really out of practice being a student.

If you think about it, I have not sat in a classroom as a student since the Spring of 1981.Image

Yes that’s quite some time ago.

When I was last a student:

  • Ronald Reagan was President and George Bush (the father, not the son) was his Vice President,
  • MTV was not yet on the air,
  • Cal Ripkin Jr. was still in the minor leagues,
  • Whitney Houston was still in High School,
  • Dynasty had just premiered on TV,
  • and the Oscar for best picture had just gone to On Golden Pond (and the two stars of that movie died years ago), and
  • Barack Obama was a sophomore in college,

Like I said, it’s been a while…….

One Response to “What a Long Strange Trip It’s Been”

  1. 1 Shaun toomey

    Good for you, be proud. Not easy to reinvent yourself.


Leave a Reply

