2012 Reading List

06Jan13

My goal each year is to read 20 books. For the third consecutive year I have exceeded this goal. I keep a list and find it interesting to look back occasionally and review all the different topics I have read about.

After years and years of reading almost no fiction, I decided to include more fiction a few years ago. This year I read 12 novels, about half those in a series of science fiction books by Andre Norton.

My family bought me an iPad last Christmas, so this year I actively searched for books that were available in a digital format. Free is my favorite price, so I was pleasantly surprised to learn that i could borrow (some) books from my library in a digital format.

I still don’t understand why a digital book is $15.99 and the hard cover is $16.99. I would think, printing and distribution savings would yield lower prices for digital versions.

Well, here’s my list of books for 2012:

War Room: The Legacy of Bill Belichick and the Art of Building the Perfect Team – This was an excellent book if you enjoy Football – It’s not as good at Michael Holley’s first football book, Patriot Reign, but it’s very good.

Heat Wave (Nikki Heat) – The book differs greatly from the show, but Castle remains ruggedly handsome. It was fun.

The Time Machine – Considering this book was written in about 1895, it holds up really well. Nothing like a science fiction novel that isn’t outdated in five years.

11/22/63: A Novel – This was outstanding – probably the best book I read this year. It’s long but by the time you get to the end, you’re longing for more pages. Stephen King is such a wonderful writer. Image

Arctic Drift (A Dirk Pitt Novel, #20) – Okay, I’m done with Dirk Pitt. Talk about a predictable, formulaic story.  A real yawner.

High and Tight: Hank Greenberg Confronts Anti-Semitism in Baseball – Who knew he had it so rough? A short little book and an easy read on the treadmill.

Micro: A Novel – This might be the last of the Michel Crichton books. Crichton passed away before he could complete it, so it’s partly written by Richard Preston. It was good but not near his best.

Space Chronicles: Facing the Ultimate Frontier – Funny, I remember reading this and enjoying it but, I had to look it up to recall any specifics. It didn’t stick in my head and I wonder if that says something about the book or my head.

Forgotten Fleet: The Mothball Navy – I know, no one but me would ever read this, but I enjoyed it.Image

Cruising Attitude: Tales of Crashpads, Crew Drama, and Crazy Passengers at 35,000 Feet – A modern version of Coffee, Tea or Me and not nearly as funny.

Likeable Social Media: How to Delight Your Customers, Create an Irresistible Brand, and Be Generally Amazing on Facebook – Very interesting take how to use social media.

The Rough Guide to Egypt – The Valley of the Kings beckons. Can I go now, please?

US Fast Battleships 1936-47: The North Carolina and South Dakota Classes – For 99.9% of people, most Navy ships look alike and are all often referred to as “Battleships,” but there were important distinctions between the actual Battleships the US developed before and during World War II.

The Big Ship: The Story of the S.S. United States – For someone who really likes ships, this was fascinating. I have seen this magnificent ship in Philadelphia. I can only imagine her beauty when she was in her prime.

Shipwreck – Really more of a long short story or novella than a book.

Enemies, a Love Story – Siskel and Ebert explained.

500 Social Media Marketing Tips: Essential Advice, Hints and Strategy for Business: Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, Google+, YouTube, Instagram, LinkedIn, and More! – This was so-so. Lots of good tips and lots of filler too. I’d have preferred 100 really good tips.

Why American Newspapers Gave Away the Future – This was a great analysis of why the newspaper industry got it self into such trouble.

Trading Manny: How a Father and Son Learned to Love Baseball Again – A wonderful baseball book. It’s about a father and son and baseball. Need I say more?

Plague Ship, The Time Traders, The Defiant Agents, Galactic Derelict, Key Out of Time – This is a series of science fiction books written by Andre Norton. Most were published in the 1950’s and they hold up pretty well. Image

When the Game Was Ours – Magic and Larry – This was a really good book by one of my favorite sport writers – Jackie MacMullen. It’s no accident that both players and the writer are in the Basketball Hall of Fame.

Sh*t My Dad Says – This is the funniest book I have read in a long time. I laughed from page one to the end.

Tunnel Vision – I was intrigued by this book because it is set in the Boston area. It was okay – held my interest.

No Responses Yet to “2012 Reading List”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

