Why Titanic Is The Perfect Movie For My Wife And I

04Apr12

Titanic is the perfect movie for my wife and I.

It’s a love story. A boy meets girl story. The world says “No” but their love triumphs story.

It’s about a woman freed from the staid traditions of her upbringing, set free by the freest of all free spirited young men.

It’s about how love makes us and changes us, how it lives on long after we, as individuals, are gone.

It’s about the value of of life and how unimportant financial worth is in creating a life worth living.

And, it’s about a big-ass ship that sinks.

That’s the part I like.

It’s not like I don’t have a romantic bone in my body. Really, I do. When Titanic was released in 1997, my wife and I saw it quite a few times. One time, I was so wrapped up in the Jack and Rose story I literally forgot the ship was going to sink. I can remember the dawning realization as I sat in that dark theater, “Oh, that’s right, the ship is going to sink.” Stupid maybe, but it proves, I think, that I do have some appreciation for romance.

If you’ve read my blog for any length of time, you may recall my occasional posts about ships and the men who sail them.  They’ve fascinated me for as long as I can remember.

Ships have also terrified me. The idea of something so huge, so completely out of control that it sinks from under me, and quite probably takes me down with it, gives me the willies just to imagine it. It makes me think of that famous line from Heart of Darkness “The horror, the horror.”

And I am amazed at what people do in the face of certain death. The people who do their jobs, who stay at their post until the last possible moment. It’s inconceivable to me.

Nobody ever talks about the guys who stayed in the bowels of the sinking ship to keep the lights on and wireless going. But they did, and they probably never made it out of the ship – they probably drowned as Titanic ripped herself in half and dove for the bottom.

So now, Titanic is back and it’s in 3-D.

I’m not sure how the 3-D thing is going to play out in the first two and a half hours of the movie – the boy meets girl part – my wife’s part. And I suspect I won’t forget that Titanic will sink this time, but I’m sure it will terrify me, and terrify me in 3-D.

I can’t wait.

No Responses Yet to “Why Titanic Is The Perfect Movie For My Wife And I”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

